Spring Workouts

Hello, beauties!

I don’t know about you, but around the end of February, as if I couldn’t be more disgusted with gray skies and winter, I start thinking of bikini season and I get even more disgusted.

As if you don’t already know, I’m no gym goer.  I barely have time to get in an at home workout and still see my family for an hour a day.  But, I always want to feel better and I never want to be the mom that everyone points at and talks about for wearing something she shouldn’t.

I think we can all agree that change of any kind comes with consistency.  I put so much pressure on myself so often that I am constantly disappointed in myself for not seeing results.  This time, I broke everything down and just decided to screw everything I thought I knew and do one simple thing that was good for me.  For me, that is speed walking on the treadmill.  I’m not a runner guys…I’m just not.  I’ve tried (but maybe not long enough to make it routine) but I feel so much better speed walking.  I have a treadmill in my office with an old school TV and DVD player, and I basically watch Friends, Cougar Town and a variation of Channing Tatum and Nicholas Sparks movies over and over–ha!  Watching a movie or TV show engages my mind, so I don’t even realize I’ve walked 3 or 4 miles!

After a week or so of starting my routine, I started using the incline on my treadmill, starting at a 2 and after 25 minutes taking it down to 1, finishing at 0 on a flat surface.  At the beginning I would do this 3-4 days a week.  After a month and a half, I was getting in 5-6 nights a week, unless we had late baseball practice, then I tried to make up for it on Sunday.  Now that both baseball seasons have started for us, we are only home on Tuesday nights, so I’ve found I have to walk faster for longer on nights I can get it in.  I’ve also incorporated some light weights into my routine at least 2 times a week.  Sometimes I swing a 10 pound kettle bell 25-30 times, and other times I use 8 pound weights for biceps and triceps.  It’s not perfect, but it’s what I can fit in without my mind exploding.

Here’s what I’ve found:  I actually am bummed now when I can’t get on the treadmill!!  What???  Yes, I said bummed!  Also, I was the weirdo that didn’t take measurements when I first started in late February/early March, but I know that I’ve lost inches because I can start to see some definition come back in my super short torso and legs.  My mom has also mentioned she can tell I’m toning up and that my face looks slimmer.  She sees me every day and she’s brutally honest, so I’m going to call that a win.

Pounds lost:  Maybe 3 and that’s being generous.  For those who know me, you know it is so hard for me to look at numbers on the scale and numbers on clothing tags.  I’ve always been so focused on the number and my body has always worked against me, because, for whatever reason, I look like I weigh about 10-15 less than I actually do.  You may think this is a great thing, unless you focus on numbers like I do and then you are constantly beating yourself up about it because the numbers don’t reflect the way they should.  But I know deep down that I’ve made some kind of progress to see what I see in the mirror, so I’m trying not to beat myself up too much.

My next plan:  Trying to cut some carbs and sugars from my diet.  When I get stressed from everyday busy life, I look for things to eat.  I never realized I did this until this past year.  It’s so hard to say “no” and go do something else when food is all you can think about in that moment.  PLUS there’s the added stressor that I don’t even get home until after the typical dinner time, so I usually don’t even really cook anything.  I mean, I feel like the kids get decent food, but it’s not what my mom had ready for us, at 6 every night…if you know what I’m saying.  My mom was also a stay at home mom for most of my childhood, so there’s that.  When I worked closer to home, I would actually put something in the crock pot or make something at 5:15 when I rolled in the driveway, but I haven’t been able to get into the groove of doing that since I have had to drive 50 minutes to and from work every day and don’t get home until after 6:15 most days.

We need to make some changes, somewhere.  I’m so tired of fast food and quick little dinners at home.  When I eat fast food, I eat salads (grilled chicken) or protein bowls (with more grilled chicken) or Subway with no cheese or mayo, but let’s face it guys, it gets old FAST and there’s always this little dude on my shoulder telling me I’m doing bad things and the sodium in those foods are bad for me, and the kids need more veggies and more fiber, not another chicken nugget, even if it is organic.  I’ve thought about meal delivery, but that would just be ONE MORE THING to pay for, monthly.  It’s expensive and I would still need to spend almost as much at the grocery store anyways.

I’m going to try and make it a priority this summer to think ahead of time and plan meals better.  It’s hard for me….real hard.  I feel like I should be spending the time I am actually home with my family and not stuck in the kitchen for hours meal prepping.  Alas, I’m going to try and find the happy medium that I’m sure exists somewhere.

What are your tips for cutting back on sugary, carb filled foods?  What are your favorite snacks and dinners?  Comment below and let me know.

I want to leave you with this one thought that I finally have figured out over the years:  Whatever your weight/shape/height/goal may be, consistency is KEY and will bring you results.

xoxoxoxo

Your comments make my day!

Inspired, Natural and Creative

Inspiration is Natural.

ModMommyMK

Mommy in the modern world!

queenjarrell

Journey to Better Health and Living

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Happily Oiled After

Journey into healthier living and essential oils

mandy odle

stories from a mommy + makeup artist

Little Miss Momma

Mommy in the modern world!

Eat Yourself Skinny

Mommy in the modern world!

Skinnytaste

Mommy in the modern world!

a is for abs

Mommy in the modern world!

Inspired, Natural and Creative

Inspiration is Natural.

ModMommyMK

Mommy in the modern world!

queenjarrell

Journey to Better Health and Living

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Happily Oiled After

Journey into healthier living and essential oils

mandy odle

stories from a mommy + makeup artist

Little Miss Momma

Mommy in the modern world!

Eat Yourself Skinny

Mommy in the modern world!

Skinnytaste

Mommy in the modern world!

a is for abs

Mommy in the modern world!

