Week 1 Update

Week one consisted of me easing into some new habits.  Monday I saw a new family doctor to see if I wanted to make the switch from our current doctor to this new one and I’m still not sure.  The new doctor is a DO and I thought that was going to be a bit of a different approach, (not holistic, but using other techniques like acupuncture and chiropractic manipulations) to health and … well…I haven’t decided if I’m going back.  Not because I didn’t like the doctor, because I thought she was great, but because I thought a DO’s techniques were different than they were.  One of the subjects we talked about was my anxiety.

It was crazy to me how much emphasis she put on exercise.  She told me I was already doing the right thing by eating less processed food and counting calories and eating organic, but in addition I was to get 30-45 min of HARD exercise every single day.  No if’s, and’s or but’s about it.  Everyday.  No excuses.  I had never in my life had a doctor stress it to me like she did.  I mean, yes, I would LOVE to be toned and lose weight in the process.  Who wouldn’t, right?  Obviously there is no doubt in my mind that exercise is good for you, inside and out.  I just don’t know if I believe it cures anxiety because I’ve been told “just go run the stairs, go swim etc.” my entire life as an anti anxiety tactic and I can tell you it’s not a magical cure.

However, to challenge myself, I said I was going to start getting up early (which also means going to bed earlier) and getting some exercise in every morning before work.  Then…all hell broke loose because one of our dogs got out and is really, really lost.  I did get 2 rounds on my recumbent bike in last week, and TONS of walking on our mini vacation in Cincinnati over the weekend, but the majority of our time last week and even this week has been spent on our dog finding efforts. 😦

This week I had an appointment with a wellness coach and we had the best conversation about nutrition!  I have no problem handing out nutritional advice to everyone else, but when it comes to my own nutrition, I have a problem practicing all that I preach.  Isn’t that how it always works though?  He told me last year I had one of the lowest LDL’s he had ever seen in his life and this year he said it went down some more.  I’ll take it.

Even with our 2 day vacation, filled with some cheat foods and drinks, I am still down almost a pound–more good news!

So all of this busy crap, plus a few more stressful situations and you’ve got me…sitting here….yawning and begging for bed at 10.  Oh, and can you believe we will have a 2 year old on Sunday?  How is this possible!

Goals for this week:

**Increase water intake

**Get 3 more workouts in

**Work on reworking my schedule so it’s easier to get up of a morning to get some kind of work out in.

What are your goals for the week?

Nighty night, all!

 

Comments

  1. Came across your blog & wanted to say good luck on your goals!

Your comments make my day!

Inspired, Natural and Creative

Inspiration is Natural.

ModMommyMK

Mommy in the modern world!

queenjarrell

Journey to Better Health and Living

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Happily Oiled After

Journey into healthier living and essential oils

mandy odle

stories from a mommy + makeup artist

Little Miss Momma

Mommy in the modern world!

Living In Yellow

Mommy in the modern world!

Eat Yourself Skinny

Mommy in the modern world!

Skinnytaste

Mommy in the modern world!

a is for abs

Mommy in the modern world!

Inspired, Natural and Creative

Inspiration is Natural.

ModMommyMK

Mommy in the modern world!

queenjarrell

Journey to Better Health and Living

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Happily Oiled After

Journey into healthier living and essential oils

mandy odle

stories from a mommy + makeup artist

Little Miss Momma

Mommy in the modern world!

Living In Yellow

Mommy in the modern world!

Eat Yourself Skinny

Mommy in the modern world!

Skinnytaste

Mommy in the modern world!

a is for abs

Mommy in the modern world!

