Silver Linings (no, not the playbook)

I’m one of those really sappy thankful people.  I know at the end of the day, I have been very blessed.  Sure, everyone has wants and wishes-but pare all of those things away and I can see a perfectly healthy, happy family that I love so very much.  I see jobs, cars in the driveway, a house, warm bedding and clothes, food, electricity and special extras.

Everyday I’m thankful.

Currently my first “fur baby” is not in the best of shape.  She will be 11 in April.  Last month she was diagnosed with vestibular disease, which you can read about  here.  The vet gave me the diagnosis and told me she should come out of it in 4-6 weeks, and that it was possible she could have another episode because of her age.  The vet also said that she has two strikes against her in the “c” department because boxers are tumor factories and she’s older which makes it worse.  The vet told me watch for things like seizures and head pressing (which is just what it sounds like) because those signs could signal a brain tumor.

So I went about my way and as the weeks passed I noticed Stella was acting much better, but that she was losing weight, and her head tilt that goes along with the vestibular was getting worse.  We started watching her eat and sure enough, she’s eating all of her food, but I know she has lose even more weight in the one months time it has been since we saw the vet–then last week I saw her start head pressing.  We are going today for another visit to the vet and a full blood panel work up to see if it gives us any answers.  I have a terrible, terrible gut feeling this is going to end up being the “c” word.  I have been mentally preparing myself for weeks now that this may be the beginning of the end.  It physically hurts to think about it.  It hurts to think about not having my girl laying at my feet every day and following me around the house everywhere I go.

So, in situations like this one, I try so hard to find the silver lining.  Yes, things are sucky in this situation, but I need to focus on what’s GOOD and it will make my outlook so much better in this situation and help me handle whatever news comes our way.  So here it is:  Stella is (and always will be) extremely special to me and I know she’s been devoted to me 100% since I brought her home at 6 weeks old.  She’s been devoted to me even when I haven’t been as devoted to her, when our kiddos came into the world and took (take) lots of our time.  But even though things on the doggie front aren’t the best, our kids are healthy, happy and safe and our family is healthy, happy and safe.  It’s so very important to me to put things into perspective like this.  I will be devastated if I have to make a difficult decision concerning Stella in the next couple months, but I have to focus on the GOOD and the GOOD is that everyone I love is healthy and safe.

So, here’s to hoping we find some answers in this blood work today, hopefully an easy fix so we can have Miss Stella Marie around for a few more years. 🙂

Stella

mason week 1-stella

IMG_0888

Your comments make my day!

Inspired, Natural and Creative

Inspiration is Natural.

ModMommyMK

Mommy in the modern world!

queenjarrell

Journey to Better Health and Living

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Happily Oiled After

Journey into healthier living and essential oils

mandy odle

stories from a mommy + makeup artist

Little Miss Momma

Mommy in the modern world!

Living In Yellow

Mommy in the modern world!

Eat Yourself Skinny

Mommy in the modern world!

Skinnytaste

Mommy in the modern world!

a is for abs

Mommy in the modern world!

Inspired, Natural and Creative

Inspiration is Natural.

ModMommyMK

Mommy in the modern world!

queenjarrell

Journey to Better Health and Living

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Happily Oiled After

Journey into healthier living and essential oils

mandy odle

stories from a mommy + makeup artist

Little Miss Momma

Mommy in the modern world!

Living In Yellow

Mommy in the modern world!

Eat Yourself Skinny

Mommy in the modern world!

Skinnytaste

Mommy in the modern world!

a is for abs

Mommy in the modern world!

