Let’s Get Hopped Up and Make Some …. Goals!

I am a self professed over thinker.  I always have to have a project, or something to look forward to.  I am never telling the truth when I say “gees, I just want to sit around all day every day”.  Actually, I don’t think anyone can ever say they have ever heard me say that.  It’s no secret that my pregnancy was no walk in the park, and it was SO HARD to be told at 22 weeks along that I needed to basically be on a modified type of bed rest until 37 weeks.  I went to work and came home.  Those were the two places I saw for MONTHS.  So very thankful I was able to work though because I love my job and I would have gone stark raving insane if I hadn’t been able to drive or get out of the house, even a tad bit.

It’s also no secret that I had to have a C-section w/ Mr Mason, and those of you who have had one know that it is a major surgery and you can’t get up and do much in any timely manner.  I hate sitting around, so to know that I had to continue to sit around for at least 3-4 weeks post surgery was maddening…but the end is in sight my friends!

So now that I see the light at the end of this “sitting around” tunnel, (yes, I will continue to follow Dr.’s orders and not lift, work out, or hard core house clean until I reach 8 weeks post surgery) I am soooo ready to make some goals for myself and get working on them!

2013 Mary Goals:

1–Lose 20 pounds—I am left with about 15-17 left to lose since having Mason, but I’m still losing water weight even now, 3 weeks after surgery, so it could be a little less by the time its all said and done.  I cannot work out until 8 weeks post surgery, so that wont be until mid-September.  Until then, I have to rely on diet and that kind of stinks.  I have a portion issue….that’s my major barrier while losing weight.  I’m sure that’s everyone’s big issue—I just need to realize fitting into size 4’s again will be worth so much more than a second serving of something.

2–Get a new highlight, cut and style—I’m not one of the mommies who chops her hair off after having a baby, but it’s been about 10 or 11 months since I have had a good trim, so I cannot wait to go next week and get a new color and cut!

3–Plan meals and eat at home more.  Also, stop going out to eat for lunch–and bring my lunch more often.  I would like to only go out for dinner and lunch once a week.  I have spent a ridiculous amount of money on eating out, and being on maternity leave has made me realize how much $$ I save by eating at home.  Plus, like I said….20 pounds isn’t going to magically come off on its own…bringing lunches and cooking at home will allow me to measure out portions more.

4–See my friends A LOT more!  After months of not being able to do much, I’m so ready to have girl time again.

5–Succumb to fixing dinner.  You guys don’t know how much I flipping loathe cooking dinner.  I can make a mad healthy breakfast and lunch but dinner is something I always avoid.  I like FLAVOR and new things, but I don’t want to spend the 2 hours prepping the food.  I hate chopping, dicing, dividing, marinating and all the things that make a good dinner.  Even worse, Brock hates to do that too!  His idea of “cooking” dinner is a piece of meat on the grill or in the oven and a bag of steamed veggies in the microwave. Don’t get me wrong….that’s all fine and well–but sometimes I want to be excited to eat dinner, which means I want actual sides and stuff. There has to be a balance between quick meal plans and nights that we can plan to fix something bigger and more involved.  You may think this is ridiculous that I’m making this a goal, but I really HATE that I HATE to fix dinner.  It’s one of those things that makes me insane because I fight with myself so much about it.  Strange…I know.

6–To be the best version of me that I can be.  Mary’s translation: to be happy.  I have so much to be thankful for, and I want to make the most of every day.  Love life, get and stay healthy, be a great wife and mother and to have enough discipline to accomplish all the goals I set out to make!

Cheers to me, and to what I can accomplish this year! 🙂

Your comments make my day!

Inspired, Natural and Creative

Inspiration is Natural.

ModMommyMK

Mommy in the modern world!

queenjarrell

Journey to Better Health and Living

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Happily Oiled After

Journey into healthier living and essential oils

mandy odle

stories from a mommy + makeup artist

Little Miss Momma

Mommy in the modern world!

Living in Yellow

Mommy in the modern world!

Eat Yourself Skinny

Mommy in the modern world!

Skinnytaste

Mommy in the modern world!

a is for abs

Mommy in the modern world!

Inspired, Natural and Creative

Inspiration is Natural.

ModMommyMK

Mommy in the modern world!

queenjarrell

Journey to Better Health and Living

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Happily Oiled After

Journey into healthier living and essential oils

mandy odle

stories from a mommy + makeup artist

Little Miss Momma

Mommy in the modern world!

Living in Yellow

Mommy in the modern world!

Eat Yourself Skinny

Mommy in the modern world!

Skinnytaste

Mommy in the modern world!

a is for abs

Mommy in the modern world!

