Pickin’ Up My Fit Tools…

Those of us who care about our health and appearance usually know what works best for them to obtain and keep that appearance up.  I know what my basic tools are, but it’s always so much fun to check out what everyone else’s are.  I am always trying new things!  New face creams, organic products, new recipes (as long as they are easy), a new style of shirt here and there, and of course…lots of new shoes and makeup.  And jewelry, and purses…and I’m pretty sure you get the idea.

Back in January, much like the rest of America, I decided to stop making excuses and really buckle down on the last 15 pounds I wanted to lose and KEEP off.

I’ve lost about 12 pounds…and the last 3 vary from day-to-day.  Mainly this is my fault.  Why is it that when we get sooo close to the “diet” finish line, we aren’t as strict?  I mean, I wouldn’t run a 5K and start walking 20 feet before the finish line, so why do I do that with my eating habits?  Such a frustrating part of myself that I will never understand.

I’m happy with the weight I have lost and hopefully I can just continue to be consistent with cardio and free weights to keep the last 3 off.  If I have learned anything over the last year, it’s that consistency is key.  And…I kinda suck at it.   Hence the last 3 pounds that set up camp around my thighs!

Anyways, getting back on track —

Here are some of my favorite new sites…aka my TOOLS… that have made it easy to plan meals and try new healthy things!  Those of you who know me, know that I hate meal planning.  I hate the idea that I have to spend time and effort planning something that may not happen if something better comes up haha.  I’m totally down with trying things from these sites!  They are all healthy, really good tasting and the food is all very pretty 🙂

**Hungry-girl.com –Looove Lisa!  Some of you may have her books, but be sure to sign up for her daily emails!  I have made SEVERAL things off them!

**Eat Yourself Skinny (www.eat-yourself-skinny.com) First of all, Kelly Hunt is adorable and she has great fashion sense…but more importantly, her recipes are amazing, and super healthy for you!  She gets a thumbs up from me because she tries to eat clean and most of her recipes are prepared with that in mind.  She has a Funfetti Cake Mix Dip that is to die for and only 100 calories!  Follow her on twitter and Facebook and check out her blog!

**Dashing Dish (www.dashingdish.com)  Love this site!  Love her quick videos with helpful tips and her recipes are yummo!  Brock and I just tried to chicken pizza salad the other night and it was great!  Again, super healthy, and everything has weight watchers points converted already!

**Skinny Taste (www.skinnytaste.com) This site was something I came upon back in January when I was considering joining weight watchers.  I didn’t end up joining, but…I’m super glad I found this site!  Really great crock pot recipes and dessert recipes!

**Alison Sweeney’s Website (www.alisonsweeney.com) She’s the author of “The Mommy Diet” and plays the infamous Sami Brady on Days of Our Lives, oh and has this other little job; playing hostess on The Biggest Loser.  She’s got some great advice peeps!  Snacks, fitness on the go, and no excuse work outs are just a few.  This lady means business and brings a whole new meaning to multi-tasking!

**Roo Mag.com (www.roomag.com/category/practically-speaking/)  –Candace Cameron Bure’s website houses her blog, which she tries to update a few times a week.  This includes recipes, work out tips, Candace’s own food “log” and inspirational scriptures.  I’m a fan!

**My Fitness Pal (www.myfitnesspal.com)  I’m a member (Look me up: mkeevers) and I recently started logging my foods again on a daily basis.  Everyone says it helps.  I have been counting calories for years, so I have gotten good at keeping a mental note of how many I have probably consumed, but sometimes it’s just better to actually SEE it.  Good site…check it out!

And here are some of my favorite books

**Bob Harper’s “The Skinny Rules”.  Read it…all of it!!!!!  Try to stick to at least half his rules on a day-to-day basis.  It’s a plain and simple weight loss strategy and he keeps it non-frilly and to the point.

**Alison Sweeney’s “The Mommy Diet”.  I like this book for the recipes that are scattered throughout.  Simple, fast, on the go snacks!  Sign me up!

**Candace Cameron Bure’s “Reshaping It All”.  I love everything about this book!  I have mentioned it in earlier blogs, so I’m not going to rehash what I think, but you should really check it out.  🙂

**Hungry Girl’s “300 Under 300” cookbook.  I love Lisa’s cookbooks!  Everything is so organized and laid out where you can find something easy in very little time!  I have made several items for dinner and breakfast from this cookbook, and also from her “200 under 200” cookbook and have never been disappointed!

Those are some of my “tools” for taking care of my health.  What are your tools?  Please share!

God only gave us one body.  It’s your temple, treat it that way! 🙂

Your comments make my day!

Inspired, Natural and Creative

Inspiration is Natural.

ModMommyMK

Mommy in the modern world!

queenjarrell

Journey to Better Health and Living

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Happily Oiled After

Journey into healthier living and essential oils

mandy odle

stories from a mommy + makeup artist

Little Miss Momma

Mommy in the modern world!

Living In Yellow

Mommy in the modern world!

Eat Yourself Skinny

Mommy in the modern world!

Skinnytaste

Mommy in the modern world!

a is for abs

Mommy in the modern world!

Inspired, Natural and Creative

Inspiration is Natural.

ModMommyMK

Mommy in the modern world!

queenjarrell

Journey to Better Health and Living

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Happily Oiled After

Journey into healthier living and essential oils

mandy odle

stories from a mommy + makeup artist

Little Miss Momma

Mommy in the modern world!

Living In Yellow

Mommy in the modern world!

Eat Yourself Skinny

Mommy in the modern world!

Skinnytaste

Mommy in the modern world!

a is for abs

Mommy in the modern world!

