Healthy Mom-Spirations :)

Those of you who know me best, know that I am a  walking, talking version of the latest People magazine.  I do love my celeb stories, and while a lot of the stories out there are meant purely to sell magazines and for entertainment value, some of the stories are honest and come from a good place.  As a mom, I tend to gravitate towards a great “before and after” piece, or a “how she does everything under the sun while being a mommy piece”.  It’s human nature, I can’t help it!  Plus, reading about nutrition or fitness and lifestyle changes are kind of like going to my happy place, that is full of motivational speakers and happy quotes.

In January 2011, I’ll admit….a few Holiday pounds had found their way to my thighs…and I wanted to make a change in how I viewed food, and the food choices I was making.  I didn’t make bad choices before, but I had room for improvement, and I really just wanted to strengthen my views on the foods I chose for myself and my family.  I knew that I wanted to try and stay away from processed foods and I wanted to try and keep Brayden from consuming so many of them as well, but I honestly didn’t know where to begin.  I don’t like to cook, so I knew if cooking was involved, I wanted it to be easy, and I wanted to use clean foods, lots of organic foods and of course have a good variety to chose from every night….basically I wanted a “celeb” style menu for every meal, but I didn’t want to cook it myself and I didn’t have $1000/per month to have a fresh diet truck drop all my meals (that would be about the cost of only my food–yes, food delivery is that expensive) off at my back door.

Then I started to think, to be “well”, means feeling well physically and mentally.  It takes both pieces to work simultaneously to achieve success.  This is when I found out about “Reshaping It All” by Candace Cameron Bure (yep, she played DJ Tanner on “Full House”).  I am so so so glad that I bought this book and really studied it!  It puts a Religious spin on weight loss and how you can mentally train yourself to be a stronger person, through being stronger with the Lord.  Plus, there are added bonuses like Bible verses, inspirational notes and Candace’s own recipes (that are EASY and made with clean, organic items) that are super good!  Candace has 3 kids of her own and they eat just as healthy as she and her husband do, plus she makes time to be active with her kids every single day.  She instills these wonderful moral values in her family’s life, every single day.  I feel like that is the key to getting better at anything…having the right attitude and feeling accomplished goes a long way! 🙂

Fast Forward to March 2012, and I have lost 20 pounds, and several inches…and still learning and losing everyday!  It takes work, and dedication and DISCIPLINE–but it CAN be done.  Trust me! 

Other Celeb Mommies that inspire me:

Ali Sweeney from Days of Our Lives and The Biggest Loser and author of “The Mommy Diet”, which ROCKS by the way (for mommies and mommies to be).  Talk about being busy….she couldn’t be more busy if she tried and she makes fitness, family and nutrition a #1 priority for her family’s daily life.

Reese Witherspoon.  I feel like I shouldn’t even have to explain this one.  Everything about her screams down to earth mommy, right down to the chickens and goats she has in her backyard!

Jennifer Garner and Jessica Alba, because you always see them with their kids in tow at a local farmers market or playground, because they bring their kids to set, and because you can tell they don’t have “celeb help” like a lot of moms in the biz.  And Jessica Alba’s new company, The Honest Company looks amazing, and I can’t wait to try it out when we move into our new home!

I take different pieces of inspiration from all of these celeb mommies and it really just gives me a tiny bit of a boost in morale for the workout or recipe I’m trying to complete!

I challenge all of you to find little bits of inspiration throughout the day, anything to keep your head up and to keep ya going to make it through to other side of the healthy tunnel!

Trackbacks

  1. […] +Dancing With the Stars.  This season my twitter BFF (another story for another time) Candace Cameron Bure is a competitor.  You can read about how she inspires me here. […]

Your comments make my day!

Inspired, Natural and Creative

Inspiration is Natural.

ModMommyMK

Mommy in the modern world!

queenjarrell

Journey to Better Health and Living

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Happily Oiled After

Journey into healthier living and essential oils

mandy odle

stories from a mommy + makeup artist

Little Miss Momma

Mommy in the modern world!

Living in Yellow

Mommy in the modern world!

Eat Yourself Skinny

Mommy in the modern world!

Skinnytaste

Mommy in the modern world!

a is for abs

Mommy in the modern world!

Inspired, Natural and Creative

Inspiration is Natural.

ModMommyMK

Mommy in the modern world!

queenjarrell

Journey to Better Health and Living

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Happily Oiled After

Journey into healthier living and essential oils

mandy odle

stories from a mommy + makeup artist

Little Miss Momma

Mommy in the modern world!

Living in Yellow

Mommy in the modern world!

Eat Yourself Skinny

Mommy in the modern world!

Skinnytaste

Mommy in the modern world!

a is for abs

Mommy in the modern world!

