Healthy Mommy…Part One

Where do I even begin with this post?  What direction should I take this in?  So. Many. Thoughts.  I’ll start with my own.

I’m a smart girl, I have taken courses while in college on nutrition, fitness and all around basic health classes.  This does not make me an expert, but this makes me educated enough to know what I should do, and it shouldn’t be that hard to really buckle down and do it…right?  Ya, uhm…not so much.  Don’t get me wrong though, I don’t live off unhealthy foods and I do try to get exercise in when I can.  I’m basically the “average” maintainer, though, I always want to be the “best” loser when it comes to weight loss and getting healthy.

I have always fought with the scale, mainly because I was blessed with my mom’s bone structure, which are thicker, heavier bones –in which she rocks standing at a nice and tall 5 foot 8 inches, and I’m only 5 foot 3 on a good day.  The only good thing about my bone structure is that my pediatrician always told me that even though the scale would say 130, I would actually LOOK 120.  Sweet, I’ll take that.  My pediatrician would also tell me “you should compete in gymnastics or tennis because you are double jointed and would rarely ever be at risk for breaking a bone.”  Nice…but I will say that to this day, I can honestly report I have never had an actual broken bone.  Fractures…yes…broken ..nope!  I guess good ol’ Norman Liebschutz did know a thing or two about what he was talking about. 🙂

Moving along….pregnancy weight is never easy for anyone to handle.  I thought I had it great until about 28 weeks.  Swelling set in, things started to get uncomfortable and it was all down hill, or should I say “up” hill from there…weight wise…I won’t bore anyone with my pregnancy stories…but I will say this…I gained a lot of weight, most of it fluid weight from swelling, but it was still hard on my body!

When I had Brayden, I told myself I would always take care of my body and never put anything other than clean foods in it ever again.  I couldn’t wait to eat deli turkey again and all the tuna and fish in the world.  I was craving bold coffee and fruit salads and sushi.  Now only if I could crave those fruit salads and deli turkey again…

I think, in general, we get too comfy in our every day life, which is usually crazy busy and end up in the drive through at the nearest McDonald’s (for the record the only items on the menu I eat there are fish sandwiches, salads and egg mcmuffins) or in my case…Chick Fil A-grabbing a grilled chicken salad.

I worry about what our little guy eats.  Whenever we do go out, we always make sure he has something green on his plate and we watch the intake of french fries and ice cream!  I find myself watching him eat at home and then compare it with what I’m eating.  I always make his food on his little toddler plates, which are sectioned out for 2 sides and a main entrée.  He will pick around at it and generally eat fruit and the entrée first…then a few veggies and some milk and he’s done, with some food left to spare on the plate.  Then I look at myself and what I’m eating on my full size dinner plate and extra salad bowl.  Yes, it may be a “healthy” dinner of grilled chicken, salad, baked potatoes and asparagus…but it’s the PORTIONS.  Wow.  It’s the extra-large chicken breast (a portion is supposed to be as big as a deck of cards), fatty salad dressing (I have learned that the Wish Bone spray dressing is the smart way to go), gobs of smart balance butter and a little weight watchers shredded cheese on the potato (as if the potato wasn’t bad enough alone) and of course….something sweet afterwards.

Dude.  Your healthy dinner just turned into 800 calories…really fast.  Ouch!

Anyways, the point is…if we honestly put thought into what our kids eat, why don’t we treat our bodies the same way?  If we take the time out to do it for them, don’t we deserve a little portioned out dinner plate with fruit, an all beef organic hot dog, green beans and strawberry “Dora the Explorer” yogurt too?

Any day is a good day to change your life for the better.  I firmly believe that.  ANY DAY….TODAY…not tomorrow…today!  Make the change….stick with it.  I struggle sticking with any eating change–but once you finally cross over the tallest hurdle, it’s so much better and smooth sailing from then on out.  We have to retrain our bodies to expect healthy foods, and not as much of it.  It’s HARD.  My stomach will growl half the day some days.  It’s no fun, but I cannot wait until I cross the hurdle!

I want to be a healthy mommy….and set the example for what our little guy should reach for in the pantry.  Apples or yogurt instead of gummy bears or cookies.  White milk instead of chocolate, orange juice instead of sodas (ack!!!).  We have to plant the seeds and stick with it for them…so I believe I should plant my own seeds and practice what I preach. 🙂

Moooooore to come!

Comments

  1. Haha… I think waaay more about what the kids eat than what I’m shoveling in. The curse of motherhood!

Your comments make my day!

Inspired, Natural and Creative

Inspiration is Natural.

ModMommyMK

Mommy in the modern world!

queenjarrell

Journey to Better Health and Living

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Happily Oiled After

Journey into healthier living and essential oils

mandy odle

stories from a mommy + makeup artist

Little Miss Momma

Mommy in the modern world!

Eat Yourself Skinny

Mommy in the modern world!

Skinnytaste

Mommy in the modern world!

a is for abs

Mommy in the modern world!

Inspired, Natural and Creative

Inspiration is Natural.

ModMommyMK

Mommy in the modern world!

queenjarrell

Journey to Better Health and Living

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Happily Oiled After

Journey into healthier living and essential oils

mandy odle

stories from a mommy + makeup artist

Little Miss Momma

Mommy in the modern world!

Eat Yourself Skinny

Mommy in the modern world!

Skinnytaste

Mommy in the modern world!

a is for abs

Mommy in the modern world!

